Sting's "Symphonicities"

Sting performs his most celebrated songs with orchestra

Sting releases a new album to accompany his worldwide 'Symphonicity' tour. Deutsche Grammophon's, released locally by MCA Music, new studio album 'Symphonicities' will find Sting performing his most celebrated songs re-imagined for symphonic arrangement.

'Symphonicities' includes fan-favorites from The Police songbook such as 'Roxanne' and 'Next To You', as well as songs from Sting's enduring solo career including 'Englishman in New York', 'I Burn for You', 'Why Should I Cry for You' and 'She's Too Good For Me', among many others. Produced by Rob Mathes and Sting, and mixed by Elliot Scheiner (Steely Dan, Fleetwood Mac) and Claudius Mittendorfer (Interpol, Franz Ferdinand), it will serve as the ultimate commemoration of the live concert, with the first single, 'Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic' now available digitally.

The tour, which has already enjoyed sell-out performances across North America, comes to Europe this autumn with The Royal Philharmonic Concert Orchestra conducted by Maestro Steven Mercurio (Pavarotti, Bocelli). The tour includes a performance at London's prestigious Royal Albert Hall as well as a special concert at the Sage Hall in his hometown of Newcastle, for which he will be accompanied by the local Northern Sinfonia Orchestra.

Drawing from a diverse and illustrious career that has produced numerous multi-platinum albums, a staggering list of number one songs, countless accolades and worldwide record sales of nearly 100 million, Sting's greatest hits will be reinterpreted with brand new orchestrations arranged by Jorge Calandrelli, David Hartley, Michel Legrand, Rob Mathes, Vince Mendoza, Steven Mercurio, Bill Ross, Robert Sadin, and Nicola Tescari.

Sting will also be joined by a quartet comprised of Dominic Miller (Sting's longtime guitarist), David Cossin (a multi-percussion specialist in new and experimental music and featured member of the Bang on a Can All-Stars), Jo Lawry (vocalist) and Ira Coleman (bassist).

Sting's interest in collaborating with orchestra began in 2008 following an invitation to perform with the legendary Chicago Symphony Orchestra. After reworking selections from his expansive catalogue, Sting joined the orchestra in a performance that left an indelible mark on him. Eager to explore the possibilities of further symphonic collaboration, Sting was excited when the Philadelphia Orchestra asked him to join them in commemoration of the 153rd anniversary of the Academy of Music.

"Performing with both the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Philadelphia Orchestra was truly a highlight of my career. I'm delighted by this new opportunity to tour with the Royal Philharmonic Concert Orchestra, having a whole new palate of musical colors to work with and reinventing the songs that have been the staples of my live performances for over thirty years," commented Sting.

Sting 'Symphonicities' available in record stores, for Php515. Only from MCA Music.

1) Next To You
2) Englishman In New York
3) Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
4) I Hung My Head
5) You Will Be My Ain True Love
6) Roxanne
7) When We Dance
8) End Of The Game
9) I Burn For You
10) We Work The Black Seam
11) She's Too Good For Me
12) The Pirate's Bride