Noel Cabangon release new album "Panaginip"

Universal Records is proud to present Noel CabangonÆs latest album "Panaginip" featuring the launching single of the same title. The album is the follow-up to CabangonÆs previous album and first under Universal Records ôByaheö, which stayed as the number one album in major record stores for 17 weeks en route to being certified Platinum. "Panaginip" boasts of 15 tracks consisting of 4 covers and 11 original compositions of Cabangon. The album was recorded at Sound Creation with major musical arrangers Bob Aves, Fred Garcia, Ria Villena-Osorio, Simon Tan and Ito Rapadas.

The album was inspired by StingÆs performance with the Royal Philharmonic in Berlin. ôPeople tend to know me more as an acoustic performer,ö says Cabangon. ôThis time, this album is mostly done with a full band with orchestral arrangements.ö

Why "Panaginip" as the album title? ôDahil lahat ng kanta ay nagmumula sa imahinasyon. Ang mga awit ay tula, ang mga tula ay awit. Ang mga awit ay likha ng malayang panaginip. Ang panaginip ay likha ng malayang isip,ö says Cabangon. ôAng pag-iimagine ay malaya, wala naming nagbabawal sa iyo.ö While it may appear that "Byahe" turned to be the biggest selling album of CabagonÆs career mainly because of the great cover songs, Cabangon bravely takes the road less traveled with an album comprised mainly of original songs.

ôItÆs a bit risky, kasi sa panahon ngayon æinÆ pa rin ang coversö, says Cabangon. ôByahe" was an overwhelming success because the advantage was it had very familiar songs. But Universal Records is behind me. It is called "Panaginip" because itÆs a challenge for a songwriter is for his creation to be heard. Kailangan tayo gumawa ng bagong originals. We have to move forward and write more songs. For the songs in this album hinahanap ko yung elegance ng mga hit songs. As songwriters, we need to challenge ourselves into creating a brilliant concept and to become brilliant songwriters na di natin makita sa mga new songs, walang sophistication and elegance. We should try to write lyrics that are poetic without becoming too deep. We need to challenge our listeners. Kailangan makadagdag na rin tayo to the rich anthology ng Philippine music.ö

Noteworthy original songs include collaborations with former Sugarfree frontman Ebe Dancel (ôHulog Ka ng Langitö) and Diamond soul siren Nina (ôIkaw Na Sanaö). Other impressive new songs include the aforementioned title track ôPanaginipö, as well as ôDahan Dahanö, ôBayani ng Bayanö, ôNgayon ang Bagong Simulaö, the hip-hop flavored ôWalang Katuladö and the haunting ôAwit ng Naghahanapö, a heart-wrenching tune inspired by victims of political killings. Three longtime original songs from Noel Cabangon are also included in the album (ôSana Dumating Ka naö, ôDahil Nariyan Kaö and the '80s inspired ôUmuulan sa Tag-araw, Umaaraw sa Tag-Ulanö).

Of course, the covers are still there: ôBulag, Pipi, Bingiö (Grand prize song of the 2nd Metropop Music Festival, originally performed by Freddie Aguilar), the Heber Bartolome classic ôTayoÆy Mga Pinoyö, ôTag-Ulanö by Lolita & The Boys and the Pete Lacaba/Ding Achacoso-written ôSangandaanö, which gained attention from the Mike De Leon classic film "Sister Stella L".

With his new album, Noel Cabangon is once again ready to sing about us and his dreams for all of us. ôThis album encapsulates my dreams for my country, my fellowmen and my friends,ö says Cabangon. ôItÆs one big challenge to do well primarily on original songs but this is one of the challenges that is worth working hard for, para mabigyan buhay ang bayan.ö

Noel Cabangon's ôPanaginipö tracklisting:

1) Bulag, Pipi, Bingi
2) Dahan Dahan Lang
3) Hulog Ka Ng Langit with Ebe Dancel
4) Sana Dumating Ka Na
5) Ikaw Na Sana with Nina
6) Dahil Nariyan Ka
7) Sangandaan
8) Panaginip
9) Walang Katulad
10) Tag-Ulan
11) TayoÆy Mga Pinoy
12) Awit Ng Naghahanap
13) Umuulan Sa Tag-Araw, Umaaraw Sa Tag-Ulan
14) Bayani Ng Bayan
15) Ngayon Ang Bagong Simula