PHILPOP 2014 Top 12 Finalists Revealed!

After a very careful selection process, the Philippine Popular Music Festival finally introduces their top 12 finalists! Adjudicators from different backgrounds made the difficult cuts from 2500+, to the top 100, 30 and down to the big 12 and all songs are in the running to become the next big hit! There are new and familiar names in the roster but all have an equal chance and opportunity to showcase Filipino songwriting! 

Here are the PHILPOP Top 12!

Dear Heart – Mike Villegas
Torpe – Daryl Ong
Babalikan Mo Rin Ako – Soc Villanueva
NGSB (No Girlfriend Since Break) – Davey Langit
Qrush On You – Q-York
Langit Umaawit – Toto Sorioso
Song On A Broken String – Jude Gitamondoc & Therese Villarante
The Only One – Popsie San Pedro
Kung Akin Lang Ang Langit – Ghi Bocobo & Isaac Garcia
Hangout Lang – Allan Feliciano & Isaac Garcia
Salbabida – Jungee Marcelo
Awit Mo'y Nandito Pa – Toto Sorioso

Mike Villegas, Toto Sorioso, Soc Villanueva, and Jungee Marcelo are alums of PHILPOP with Sorioso and Villanueva bagging 2nd and 3rd place respectively in 2012 and Marcelo gets the 3rd prize last year. Sorioso also has 2 entries in the top 12 along with Isaac Garcia who also has 2 entries with his collaborators Ghi Bocobo and Allan Feliciano.

You can listen to the snippets of the songs on the official Philpop website. Stay tuned for updates on the interpreters and where you can listen to the full song! Music videos soon on MYX! 

For more information, like Philpop on Facebook and follow them on Twitter @philpopmusic



  • thisiskathleen

    posted 3 years ago

    NGSB is sooo awesome! DAEBAK!:D

  • JimParedese

    posted 3 years ago

    for 3 years same winners and Philpop called it fair? wtf! and the finalists songs are so fucking ordinary. existing songs with new lyrics nothing but Gaya-gaya, Basura and Recycled songs done by Professionals. OPM is Dead!

  • PinoyBidyo

    posted 3 years ago

    I don't mind if we have the same composers competing again because if we have too many not-so-great amateurs then Philpop album could flop. However, what bothers me is how Isaac Garcia & Toto Sorioso each have two entries. That's not fair. It shouldn't be called a 'contest' anymore.